No Fake Science

Frequently Asked Questions

The Collective

How did the No Fake Science collective start?

The initiative to write this Open Editorial and to form a collective happened spontaneously, through social networks, in January 2019. The collective brings together citizens concerned about the way scientific information is treated in the media.

The #NoFakeScience Op-Ed was written by 20 authors who are independent of any political and/or industry pressure.

For more information, please refer to the “About us” page.

Who are its members?

The #NoFakeScience collective is composed of 20 people from different backgrounds and working in various fields, but all of whom are STEM practitioners or have a STEM-related activity (popularizer, information manager, etc.).

You can find their profiles in the “presentation of writers” section.

How can I support the No Fake Science collective?

You can support the collective by signing the #NoFakeScience Op-Ed and sharing it with others, and by sharing the content they publish on their Twitter account and Facebook page.


The Open Editorial

Why was the Op-Ed published in L’Opinion?

The #NoFakeScience Op-Ed entitled “Health, Environment, Research: the scientific method forgotten by the media” was published almost simultaneously in four French-language publications:

Thus, this Op-Ed does not “emanate from L’Opinion”, but from a collective that has proposed to various media to relay it.

What motivated you to choose these examples?

These examples were not chosen randomly. They are topics discussed very regularly in the news, and presented just as often in a way that we believe lacks scientific rigour. They also represent, among others, major ecological and health issues for which ill-informed political decisions can have serious consequences.

They are only examples, intended to illustrate the general message of the Op-Ed, without claiming to be exhaustive. Others could be mentioned concerning gender equality or biodiversity, for example.

But what will hopefully follow from the Op-Ed does not depend solely on its explicit content: it is basically an attempt to kick-start a more general debate about better coverage of scientific news (in a broad sense) in the media.

You’re writing about a science without ideology, isn’t that an illusion?

Ideological bias in science exists, if only because of the choice of subjects to study. On the other hand, when reliable results are repeatedly obtained, it is the duty of all of us to share them, and to try to put aside our biases.

Do you support all the opinions of your signatories?

The opinions of the signatories are independent of the column or of the collective. The collective’s comments are those made explicitly on its behalf. In addition, as we have already mentioned on social media, we dissociate ourselves from accounts which, under the guise of supporting us, insult or harass people who criticise or express reservations about our Op-Ed. Our only wish is to create the start of a healthy and measured dialogue.

We insist that our message is about the treatment of scientific information in the media, and we will focus on this theme alone.


This FAQ will be updated as new questions come up.

No Fake Science

Foire Aux Questions

Le Collectif

Comment est né le collectif No Fake Science ?

L’initiative d’écrire notre tribune et de regrouper ses rédacteurs en collectif s’est faite de manière spontanée, sur les réseaux sociaux, au mois de janvier 2019. Le collectif regroupe des citoyens et citoyennes préoccupé·e·s par la manière dont l’information scientifique est traitée dans les médias.

La tribune #NoFakeScience a été rédigée par 20 auteur·trice·s indépendant·e·s de toute pression politique et/ou industrielle.

Pour plus d’informations, nous vous renvoyons à notre page “Qui sommes-nous”.

De qui est-il composé ?

Le collectif #NoFakeScience est composé de 20 personnes issues de différentes formations et exerçant dans des domaines variés, mais ayant tou.te.s en commun d’exercer un métier scientifique (chercheur·se, ingénieur·e, etc.) ou en rapport avec la science (vulgarisateur·rice, gestionnaire de l’information, etc.).

Vous pouvez retrouver leurs profils dans la section “Présentation des membres”.

Comment soutenir le collectif No Fake Science ?

Vous pouvez soutenir le collectif en signant la tribune #NoFakeScience et en la partageant autour de vous ainsi qu’en partageant les contenus qu’il publie sur son compte Twitter ainsi que sur sa page Facebook.


La tribune

Pourquoi la tribune a-t-elle été publiée dans l’Opinion ?

La tribune #NoFakeScience intitulée “Santé, Environnement, Recherche : la méthode scientifique oubliée des médias” a été publiée presque simultanément dans quatre titres de la presse francophone :

De fait, cette tribune n’émane pas “de” l’Opinion, mais bien d’un collectif qui a proposé à divers médias de s’en faire le relai.

Quelles ont été vos motivations pour le choix des exemples ?

Ces exemples n’ont pas été choisis au hasard. Ils sont abordés très régulièrement dans l’actualité et présentés tout aussi régulièrement d’une manière que nous estimons peu rigoureuse. Ils représentent également, parmi d’autres, des enjeux écologiques et sanitaires majeurs pour lesquels de mauvaises décisions politiques peuvent être lourdes de conséquences.

Ce ne sont que des exemples, visant à accompagner le message général de la tribune, sans avoir la prétention d’être exhaustifs. On pourrait en citer d’autres concernant l’égalité femme/homme ou la biodiversité, par exemple.

Mais ce qui, on peut l’espérer, découlera de la tribune ne dépend pas que de son contenu explicite : elle est au fond une tentative d’étincelle pour la flambée d’un débat plus général pour un meilleur traitement de l’actualité scientifique (au sens large) dans les médias.

Vous évoquez une science sans parti-pris, n’est-ce pas une illusion ?

Le parti-pris en science existe ne serait-ce que par le choix d’étudier tel ou tel sujet. En revanche, quand des résultats fiables sont obtenus de manière répétée, il est de notre devoir à tous de les partager en essayant de mettre de côté notre parti-pris.

Cautionnez-vous toutes les opinions de vos signataires ?

Les opinions des signataires sont indépendantes de la tribune ou du collectif. Les propos du collectif sont ceux tenus explicitement en son nom. En outre, comme nous l’avons signalé précédemment, nous nous désolidarisons des comptes qui, sous couvert de soutien à notre égard, insultent ou harcèlent des personnes qui émettent des critiques ou réserves à l’encontre de notre tribune. Notre seule volonté est de créer un terreau pour un dialogue sain et mesuré.

Nous rappelons que notre message porte sur le traitement de l’information scientifique dans les médias et c’est sur ce thème que nous nous concentrons.


Cette FAQ s’enrichira au fur et à mesure de vos questions.